Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so there is about 2 inch snow tonight, i went to an empty bestbuy parking groung and tried to have some fun with my car, it was at night, no people or cars around, i didnt go faster then 25mph. just turning around the poles. after 15 mins, i got pulled over by cops, they gave me a ticket saying WRECKLESS DRIVING and need to go to criminal court. am i in big trouble??? the thing is that the car is under my dads name, and so is the insurance. will this cause the insurance to go up?? should i hire a lawyer??
it is my first time and i really didnt know, or else i wont do it, please help

·
Registered
264 Posts
good luck with that one. I"m not sure what all they are gonna do to you. But it won't be good.

·
Registered
343 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
it was at night, i was just praticing how to drive in snow. no one is around, i didnt make any really big noise, no tire marks, and there was nothing for me to damage, except maybe those hugh poles. and i dont c whats wrong.

·
Sückn' n Blown
7,747 Posts
Can they do that on private property? You may have a case since it was a closed store lot, and you were practicing.

·
Made In The USA
2,010 Posts
To be honest i would rather have you practice in a parking lot if you don't know how to drive in the snow, than out on the street where I am!
Bring up that point when you go to court, and yeah call a lawyer, that cop was just being a dink!

·
Registered
2,805 Posts
here in ohio, if you're in a parking lot, there's nothing police can do because it's "private property". sure they can sit there and wait for you to go out onto the road and watch you, but other than that there's nothing they can do.

·
Registered
4,340 Posts
reckless driving isnt just a points charge though, in many states its a misdemeanor/felony and can result in loss of ur license.