Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

I just bought some new headlights to put in my 2004 SVT-EAP. As I understand it, my SVT already comes with HID lights. The new lights I purchased specifically say NOT to use HID bulbs. I don't know why... maybe they are too hot and they will melt the plastic. Who knows? Anyhow, do I need to do anything special with my car's stock lights other than taking them out and replacing them with my new lights? The new lights already come with bulbs, btw. I know there was some talk of ballast, but it's all Greek to me. I'm a doctor, not an electrician! Plus I have to find a way to aim them too. Also, the lights have the cute little halo feature. I'm told to somehow splice those into the parking light wires OR the side marker lights. Any thoughts on that too? Any help would be appreciated before I blow something up or break down and pay a 15 year old to do it for me. :)

Thanks,

Theydon :)

·
FF's Night Security
28,767 Posts
First welcome to the forum. Second if your car has HID then it's best to go back with that same kind of headlight. I'm sure you could downgrade if you wanted to but we all try so hard to get the HID's lol. Sorry to say I can't help you due to the fact I don't know what the wiring looks like on your car. Not many came with HID's from the factory.

·
12 years strong
6,882 Posts
well i see u have a EAP SVT, which comes with the HID mach headlights. what ur describing u bought are halo projector headlights, which is a significant downgrade from ur current HID lights. the reason it says not to put HID's in the projectors is, they werent made for it. they wont melt because HID's burn cooler than halogen lights do. the lense on the projector lights wasnt made for HID lights. if i were u, i wouldnt install those lights and i would just sell em. what u have now is the best....in my eyes.

·
/人◕ ‿‿&#65
3,318 Posts