Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello im new to the focus and have a mostly stock 03 zx3. i love going out for a spirited drive on back roads. i was just wondering on average if you are entering a corner on a gravel road and the sign says 20,30 or 40 kph. Is there a general rule for speed you can usually enter the corner over that? any feed back or stories would be cool thanks.

·
Old Phart
44,595 Posts
Missed this fun question when posted.

No experience in your locale, but I've learned over time that those signs are fairly consistent within their area of local authority - that means that whatever road authority installed them can be trusted to certain extent to use them in a consistent manner.

So, knowing what areas/road types have different authorities lets you know what to expect.

As a result, you need local info/personal experience to have a good idea what each sign is likely to signify.

Here in the States, most corner signs are about half speed for serious cornering with a car while "10 over" in MPH works for any vehicle. But as noted, there are states where the posted speed is really a max. for general vehicle safety and you can't push it over by much without a clear road and a good car.

So, learn who posts what type of roads then practice to see what rule fits with the car. The signs are still good for a hint, just know how much faster leaves you a margin for variations.

·
Registered
2,807 Posts
one of the biggest things for cornering speed on loose roads (gravel, snow, etc) will be tires. without knowing your tires, i couldn't recommend crazy speeds.

Sailor is right though, the signs are meant for all vehicles, RV,s trucks, etc, so cars can generally take them a bit faster.