Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i have an aem CAI, borla exhaust, race header w/o cat, roush suspension. what should go next in the majority vote. want to keep in NA. is a cam a good way to go? or throttle body (it's gonna be on soon anyway). intake manifold? i am new at 4 cyl. motors and really dont know how to build one of these things. i love the car but it's way to slow from the factory. vtec civics eat these things and going from a 5.0 mustang being beat by a civic is kinda like a kick in the groin. any advice is nice. thanks for the help.

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
cams would be nice, but u should really get new cam gears as well and have then tuned. you will find that it will perform a lot better after that. u could also think about getting the ford racing head if you got the cash. with that combo you would be looking at some pretty good gains. but other people will chime in on other things too. good luck

·
( o Y o )
5,549 Posts
TUNE, TUNE, TUNE!!! once you get the cams and cam gears in and tuned, then reflash the ECU with a better tune for higher octanes etc.

·
Registered
789 Posts
do the cams and gears first, then 65mm tb, a '00 intake mani ported with a 65mm intake hole, then get and xcal 2 to flash your ecu and go to a shop to tune the cams.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5