Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My SVT hit 86K miles the other day, I am noticing clutch engagement isn't as smooth as it used to be, it might be down too the original passenger engine mount, as I have replaced the other two a couple of weeks ago and not that one.

However, I think this coming spring I am going to replace the clutch and flywheel, I have a mechanic friend that says he will help me out with it, and I have done a clutch on my old SVT Contour.

I have never done an aftermarket Flywheel before, but from what I read on here everybody seems to rant and rave about the amazing drivability differences between the stock heavy dual mass for a lightened fidanza or similar dual mass.

After doing research it seems the best bang for buck is the Fidanza, but I can't find a confirmation anywhere that says what kind of clutches work with it, I assume I can use any clutch designed for the SVT Focus, which I probably in that case would go with a stock one since I get a preferred discount at the local Ford dealership (its nice to know people [cheers] ). But can any shed some light on it? Does a Fidanza dual mass flywheel work with the stock SVT Focus clutch? I don't really plan on any big power adders, I probably won't ever break 170 whp after the few bolt ons and tune that I plan next year.

I ask because being a long term member of the SVT Contour community, a lot of people had major issues with practically any after market clutch, specifically the Spec clutches, and anybody I knew who used one of the heavily uprated clutches really struggled to get anything more than 10-15K miles out of them. My SVT Contour had a stock SVT clutch that I ran for about 30K miles on the 2.5L motor and another 20K on the 3.0L that never gave me a single issue, and when the 3L went in the car was making 202 whp. roughly 30 more than stock.

Any insight and knowledge would greatly be appreciated.

·
Registered
930 Posts