Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am pretty much a car audio noob all though i have installed everything in my previous cars. I am looking for some nice 5x7/6x8 speakers to fit my front and rear doors of my new car. I want to have some sort of components in the front with the tweeter mounted on the A-pillar and regular speakers in the back.

I am looking to spend around 100-200 buks for a pair of components. I could see myself spending around the same for the rear speakers. I was looking at Infinity's before but it seems like a lot of you guys think you get get better for your buck. I also read good stuff about Rainbow SLC's but they are too much for just one pair of components.

Again, i am new to this so i just need something that is going to sound very clean for an SQ set up, but i also want to buy speakers nice enough so i wont need to upgrade later on! I am thinking of running a 12 inch RE sx in a slealed enclosure for my bass if that has any bearing on the type of speakers i want. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
I have Infinity Kappa 5x7's (coax), which are now almost two years old and they have been troopers. They have held up to everyting I've thrown at them and sound great too. As far as components go, there are a few options for you. Being that I own Infinity, I have to recommend them, however I have heard good things about Alpine Type S and Type R's.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
I don't know if it's me, but I feel the Infinity Kappa's lack bass. My auto EQ feature would boost the signal as much as possible (shows a graph of how much is boosted) to get some low end bass out of the speakers. I put in some cheapo Pioneers and they didn't need as much bass boosted (per the graph).