·
Registered
1,422 Posts
You'll need to get a tune for 91 octane

Reactions: faster_than_u

·
Registered
930 Posts
Whats with all these people lately putting expensive parts and then wanting to cheap out on the gas ...

·
Shot me 3 deer!!!
9,247 Posts
You really shouldn't need highe octane unless u up the compression

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Don't change the octane unless you get a tune for it. Stock with just upgraded Stage2 is fine at 87. IMO, 89 is trash.

·
Registered
1,422 Posts
but thanx FocusRacingAustrali...i see rep in your future
I'm still learning as I go but, thanks anyway.

Don't change the octane unless you get a tune for it. Stock with just upgraded Stage2 is fine at 87. IMO, 89 is trash.
You really shouldn't need highe octane unless u up the compression
That's not the case at all
You don't have to up the compression to use higher octane, I've been using 98 octane for 4 years and no problems
In my owners manual it's states for my Euro Aussie Focus I have to use 91 octane and I use 98 octane and I have no tune and I should get 1
The reason I use the higher octane is because you get little bit more Hp like 1% or there abouts and abit more mpg
When fuel price go up to high I use 91.
You will be fine with 87. No need to get 91.Cams dont need a higher octane.
He can run 87 or 91 octane with these cams but, if he want abit extra peroformance in Hp and torque and little bit more mpg then he'll have to get a tune for 87 or 91 octane.

·
Shot me 3 deer!!!
9,247 Posts
more octane does not mean more hp, more octane is adding a stronger safety factor only. Ur 98 octane is not the same as 98 octane in the states. Do a search on it, I know it is explained. Ask Tom, the only reason you need to run higher octane is if you have higher compression or u advance ur ignition timing. Else, you can start to have carbon build up, or something like that, I know that was explained in a recent forum thread as well, I will see if I can pull it up!

·
Registered
1,422 Posts