Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Friends,

My 2005 zxw wagon has a peculiar problem. The drivers side daytime running lights wont turn on. However, if i turn on the left blinkers, they work. Also, the brake lights work if i press the brake or use the turn signal, but when the car is on the rear drivers light will not work. Neither will the license plate lights. When i use the turn signal, they blink fast on both sides of the car. I checked my fuses and found 57 and 58 blown. Replaced them and theyre blown again. 50 was also blown, but i believe thats the heated mirror fuse. Any ideas as to what i can do? Ive replaced the bulbs in both the rear and front. I tested the license plate bulb w a voltmeter and they arent blown any advice would be greatly appreciated. Please keep in mind that im an entire novice, so if u can simplify your explanations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

·
Registered
844 Posts
Check for broken wiring going to the lift gate. There is a rubber boot at the top where the wiring is located.

·
Registered
15,559 Posts
X2.

You should know there is a problem with Ford harnesses that go either into trunk lids or the wagon tailgates or hatches. The harnesses tend to break wires to short out against each other close to the hinge point where harness has to flex every time the door or hatch or gate is opened. The wire is too flimsy and the working atc is enough to break them past a time. Ford has a huge issue with it.

Not saying that is your problem but might easily be, the license lights would be for sure.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
X2.