Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello FSVT World:

I am a newbie and current owner of 1995 Contour SE, 2.5L V6, MTX-75 (5-speed), and enjoy the handling characteristics of this model (matches Contour SVT w/o the horsepower).

My questions:

1. regarding the handling or other characteristics of the 5 Door versus the 3 Door model.

2. have there been many particular TSB's, recalls or that I should be aware?

3. I'd be interested in links to owners of each of these in silver.

4. Would be interested in running a VIN through someones CarFax if willing. (post privately)

Local Dealer has a 2002 FSVT 3 Door with 5 K miles for sale, and I am tempted.

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
How much are they asking for the used svt? I bet you could just about buy a new 03 for what there going to be asking for it.There has been some problems with the svt with surging but you can have the cpu reflashed and will fix it also some people have had problems with flywheels.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Initial off the top of head was $15 K .

Plus trade in of my 'classic' Champagne Edition Contour SE, and I'll throw in the snow tires and steel wheels :)

New 2004 FSVT 3-Doors from $22.6 K plus current $1500 allowance and special interest rates.
(4) in stock (1) 5-Door for $23.3K All in Black

Other 2003's under a foot of snow

Now what about the questions above ;)

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
The 3 door is significantly faster than the 5 door, especially around the track. The ZX5 weighs about 100 pounds more. I can only imagine what a stripped out 3 door would be like.

·
Registered
56 Posts
there are no recalls that i am aware of.

the handling should be the same, i believe they have the same wheel base, the 5-door maybe a tad heavier, but that is just a guess.

as far as the TSB about the reflash, i have noticed that it mainly affects the 2002 models, i have a 2003 and i have no such problems with surging, etc.