Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this a "DIY" task or no? I'm new to Focus/SVT ownership, but have respectable garage and tool collection.

My mechanical aptitude is probably slightly above average. If I can do this job in an hour or two and save myself $100 or more in labor, then I'd like to do it myself. If it's a raging PITA job that I'll likely screw up on the first attempt, then the $100 bones is worth it.

I hope that makes sense! Feedback?

Thanks!

PS- I have a wholesale account at the local FoMoCo dealer...

·
Registered
291 Posts
Once you've done it once it is cake, but you will need a press and some large sockets to press with.
Just make certain you install the bearing in the correct orientation or the ABS sensor won’t pick up the signal.
You may want to have a spare hub available in case you screw up and don’t have alternate transportation to pick up another.
Be careful when removing the knuckle from the lower control arm. An errant pry bar can rip the ball joint boot pretty easily.
If you don't have a press, the Ford tech can do the bearings in under 10 minutes.

Tools:
32MM socket (Axle nut)
8MM socket or wrench (ABS sensor)
13MM socket or wrench (Caliper )
15MM socket or wrench
T50 Torxbit ( Strut to knuckle)
T45 Torx bit (Caliper removal)
T30 Torx bit (Tie rod end)
½” Torque wrench
½” breaker bar
3/8” ratchet

Torque values:
axle nut 233 lb-ft
strut to knuckle 66lb-ft
Ball joint 37 lb-ft
Tie rod 35 lb-ft
Caliper to knuckle 85 lb-ft

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cool- thanks. Recommendations on bearing? OEM or is there an equal/better aftermarket brand, ie Timken, etc.??

Thanks again.

·
Registered
291 Posts
I've used both Ford and Timken and did not notice a difference. Just make certain the bearing is for an ABS car. Most bearings have the ABS ring but there are still some parts listings that don't.

From RockAuto:
The Timken number for the hub and bearing is: HA590263K