Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I need more opinions and more thoughts. I've been chasing a vibration coming to the Ford focus for the 2000 to 2008 generations and I've done pretty much everything you'd think that you should do and then some. I've changed cracked ignition coils, all the motor mounts, I've changed the harmonic balancer idler pulley tensioner pulley and serpentine belt, car had the wrong battery when I bought it from the guy who owned it before me so I put the Right one in. I changed the PCV valve and I maintenance it regularly. Anybody got any ideas? I can't seem to get this vibration to stop. Feels like a go-kart.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
Did you use an aftermarket passenger mount? Those allegedly fail early and often. I'd start by verifying it's good.

·
Registered
17,175 Posts
Pass side engine mount is the common cause if the car vibrates dash and it gets better as engine gets hot from cold.

I've seen new aftermarket mounts shake your face off right out of the box. A Ford mount is about the only cure and they know it, having passed that faulty engine suspension method for some 20 years now. Look, they have modded the mount 15 different ways now but the design of the engine suspension system is the true issue and not touched at all.

It's left that way to sell more parts.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Pass side engine mount is the common cause if the car vibrates dash and it gets better as engine gets hot from cold.

I've seen new aftermarket mounts shake your face off right out of the box. A Ford mount is about the only cure and they know it, having passed that faulty engine suspension method for some 20 years now. Look, they have modded the mount 15 different ways now but the design of the engine suspension system is the true issue and not touched at all.

It's left that way to sell more parts.