Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! How are You All of You? Me fine but very worried, because I have a Ford Focus 2000 SE with 191 000 Kilometers, it is about 118 681 miles on it, I really like that car, but now I am doing only about 14 miles per gallon with it and I am very discouraged, because the budget is very tight, what can cause that problem and what should I or We can do to try to fix the problem, if it is not perfect, if I can go to 20 miles per gallon again, I would be very happy, if it is not possible can I go higher in mileage than where I am at now? I filled the tank on Wednesday at noon and now it is Saturday Night and I did about 90 miles with it since then and now the gauge is telling that the tank is a quarter full, only one quarter of gas left, I filled the tank on Wednesday and it costs me at Madawaska Maine 41$, but it has already some gas in it, between the quarter and empty. I am not a Mechanic, oooh!! no I am very far being a Mechanics, I know a bit of motor engines, but not like You All Guys and Gals. Is there anybody that can help me or Us, because my Father wants to know also, He want to go see His Favorite Mechanics, so We need help before going there and to save some money. Please help.
I might add that in the past few months, a big difference in mileage, it is very scary. Last year I was doing 21 mpg or about now I am at around 14 or so I think.
Take good care and Blessings to You All. Ciao!!
[???:)][mecry]

·
Registered
25,627 Posts
14MPG is horrible!. I get 27-32 out of mine.

Wwhat engine and trans do you have?

I would check the fuel pressure regulator if that is not working properly they EAT gas. Rare to break on our cars though.

Second, Do you leave the defroster on all the time? That runs the AC compressor and also uses 3-4 MPG...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·