Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been saying for a couple of months now that Ford needed to do a much better job of educating the public and buyers about the dual clutch transmission. This isn't a normal automatic and its not going to perform or feel like a normal automatic. They are finally doing something about it but its sort of like closing the barn door after the horse has already left.

http://wardsauto.com/home/ford_powershift_problems_110712/

·
Registered
533 Posts
Hi, no complaints from UK customers, LOL, Ford should read the road tests then. Seeing as we've had this technology since 2010 they've been slow in the uptake. However it isn't a fix, they're just 'educating' us poor souls. I wonder how they will explain away how the system gets confused as to what gear it should be in and then selects the incorrect one, which is a common complaint over here.
Chris

·
Registered
35 Posts
I have no complaints with the shifting at all. My only complaint is the slow responsiveness when you step on the gas from a stand still. I think I could shave 2 seconds off my 0-60 time if the car actually took off at full power as soon as you hit the gas.

·
Registered
190 Posts
I have no complaints with the shifting at all. My only complaint is the slow responsiveness when you step on the gas from a stand still. I think I could shave 2 seconds off my 0-60 time if the car actually took off at full power as soon as you hit the gas.
That's what the "S" position is for. When the tranny is in "D" it's supposed to get you better gas mileage whether you want it or not. If you are gonna floor it from a stop switch to "S" first, then there is no hesitation.

Just my observations...

·
Registered
35 Posts