Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, call me paranoid, but I always try to change the oil in new cars before the recommended 3K miles. I have little trust in the quality of the oil that new car manufacturers put into the vehicles. So at 2K on the clock, I replaced the oil tonight - and I have to admit, with all the vehicles I have owned (and I have always replaced all my own oil) this 2012 Focus has been the easiest to do! Oil filter is right up front, plenty of room to get too and have enough leverage to twist it off [wrenchin]- thank you Ford for making it easy for us "do-it-yourselfers"!! [wiggle][wiggle] <--- happy dance

·
Registered
210 Posts
^^ is it worth the effort or is it just better to get it changed with the dealer. I think I have some 'free oil change' or something coupons. I've never done an oil change, by myself, before

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
^^ is it worth the effort or is it just better to get it changed with the dealer. I think I have some 'free oil change' or something coupons. I've never done an oil change, by myself, before
Oh yea - its definitely worth doing it yourself! I changed my oil with full synthetic Mobile 1 and Fram high performance oil filter for just under $43. Most dealerships charge $60+ for full synthetic. Sure you get a little dirty, but to me its nice knowing the job is done with the care and respect I require when dealing with my belongings.

Would you mind posting what tool is needed for removal of the bottom cover?
Honestly I don't remember the size, but its one of the larger HEX tools I have in my box. There are 8 screws with hex tops that need to be removed in order to drop that underneath shield. Hope this helps, even if its a little bit. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful though. [:(]

·
Registered
524 Posts
10 bucks to get the oil changed at my dealership so I'll just use them.

·
Registered
39 Posts