Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
889 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been wanting to wire one for a while now, im gonna be getting an alarm sometime later, prolly next summer or so, too broke now, so i have some questions?
can i wire it to a stock security led or w.e. is on the dashboard (apparently its some kinda small chip led or something so im not sure)? if yes what would i need for that?
I did some research (if i just wire it without a security blinking led) and ppl say i need 3 wires led (ground, constant 12v, and 1 is going to a white ignition wire) + their are on ebay but i dont like that ebay idea, i want to make one myself
i went to radio shack and found only 2 wires leds, so i dunno
i asked the guy there if i can just buy leds then wire a resistor to it and end up with 3 wires somehow and he said no.. im not an electrician and i have no idea what to do :)
thx in advance

·
Registered
29 Posts
re fake alarm

I made one years ago for my car.Here is what I bought from Radio Shack to make it.( I am going from memory from 10 years ago)
1- blinking red LED- was a buck or two at the time._need a 2 pin one.
1- AA battery holder.Not sure on the price, I scavanged a holder from a old electrical device.(go to a thrift or goodwill store to find one dirt cheap-like a old electrical wall clock!)
1- short lenght of light(thin) wire. About 18gauge, colour does not matter.
1- old cassete tape box.
1- micro(small 2 position switch) (toggle will stay in either position i.e. on/off)
from Radio Shack for a couple of bucks.

Drill a small hole for the switch male thread to stick out of the side of the cassette box.

Drill a small hold for the LED light to protrude out of the side of the cassette box.

paint the cassette box flat black.

after it is dry, install the AA battery holder to the inside of the cassette(glue works good)

glue or silicone the LED light to the cassette box with the red light sticking out of the side.