Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK. I know that this subject has been tossed around everywhere but I want to get all my facts straight in one thread instead of bits and pieces. I currently have a Zetec engine with a 2.25" "y" pipe, cat-back exhaust that was already on the car when I bought it. I am not going FI and currently just have a ractive intake. I wanted to know the best combo to go with headers and/or high-flow cat. Also, I live in Ohio and we have that stupid e-check so it still needs to pass. If I go with the racing long piped headers will I not pass the e-check? I've heard a lot about the SVT headers but what do I need for that (will it pass an e-check?). Any help will be great since I'm still new to the aftermarket game.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Hey yeah I'm pretty new as well but from what I've heard and read if you have a Cat-back exhaust system, I may be wrong and please correct me if I am, but you don't need a catalytic converter. For the Zx3 model I would recommend the Focus Sport headers and Exhaust....

But thats just my 2 cents..... *flame suit on*

·
Registered
1,366 Posts
if you have something like e-check, i'm guessing that has something to do with emissions, and you WILL need a catalytic converter. don't really know what the 2.25" y pipe system is, but if you're not planning on going f/i or really aggressive n/a a 2.25" exhaust should be just fine. but as for a header/cat combo, you really can't go wrong with the svt header. and paired up with the random technologies high flow cat from mcnews and a flex pipe, you will still be emissions legal.

·
Registered
197 Posts