Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased my 2000 Focus LX from a auto auction and it seems to be leaking exhaust from underneath the hood. I removed the heat sheild to view the exhaust manifold and catalytic converter and it looks to me like the leak is coming from the catalytic converter, about 7 inches below the O2 sensor. I have little experience fixing cars and was wondering if this seams possible. I know the car was involved in an accident 4 years ago and was thinking maybe it broke? The car also gives off some bad smelling exhaust, but I assume it has been a while since it was driven - 2 months? I'm considering replacing the catalytic converter to see if it improves, but it is a little pricey. I wanted to know if anyone else has delt with a problem similar to this. Any help would be great.
-Thanks

·
Registered
25,621 Posts
Can you see the leak?? If its a small crack, just have it welded, if its a good weld it will hold for a long time.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the advice, I'll crawl under it tonight and try to locate a crack, the problem is I found out it has a salvage title and I have to go through an extensive inspection to get the car back on the road. But I'll look into getting it welded, I am also worried about the horrible smelling exhaust, I doubt it will pass inspection the way it is. Could a new converter fix this?
-Thanks.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Your Exhaust leak is causing this horrible smell especially if it is before the cat. But a cat could not hurt it any. Also the cat could be bad and could cause that horrible smell too.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey everyone,