Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I am having an issue with my 2002 ZX5 2.0 Zetec Focus. Basically, it seems to have a really hard time idling lately. It starts out idling high, you have to let it warm up a bit or the shift into gear is pretty rough (its an automatic). After the car warms up though it goes into gear ok, but switches it up and instead idles too low to the point where it wants to die when you slow down or come to a stop. If you let it die, just before it does so the battery light will flicker on. The check engine light is not on and thus I have no codes to scan for, so I went about troubleshooting this issue as best as I could, but please bear in mind that I am a computer engineer and not an automotive one :)

I have a new battery, alternator, and serpentine belt all within the last year, so I really was hoping it wasn't electrical. I put the odometer in test mode and scrolled through to the voltage and drove it like that for a while. The car holds 14.5v steady while running, so that was a good sign, and I saw that even at a stop when it's about to die it is still running at over 14v, so I don't think it is an electrical/charge issue. I started looking into it and doing some research to see if this is a common problem with Focuses and saw that some suggested cleaning out the MAF. I got some cleaner and gave that a try, but no difference (the MAF was pretty clean to begin with). After that I saw some people had mentioned the throttle body could be gunked up, so I got some cleaner for that and cleaned it out as well, but no luck there either (the throttle body was also pretty clean already). The next suggestion someone gave me was to check the IAC valve, so I'll be taking a look at that next. I've gone looking for it assuming it must be near the throttle body or the intake manifold? No luck so far, will be putting the car in the air next to have a look from underneath.