Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I've started on rebuilding an SPI engine. My last one bit the valve seat hard and blew out the side of the cylinder wall. pulled an engine out of a different focus, rebuilt the head to prevent the same thing happening again so soon, now I'm building the block. Got new pistons pressed onto the rods, new bearings on, Just wanted to hop on here while waiting for the rest of my parts to arrive and ask for any advice from anyone who has done it before? I've built engines before but I'm self taught (Basic auto shop classes and youtube along with repair manuals) so any advice is always welcomed.

Before anyone says it, yes, I know it's going to probably fail again, which is why I'm just trying to fix it and drive it. I'll beef up the next engine when that time comes, but right now I need to park my truck. It gets ***** MPG

·
Registered
15,568 Posts
Make 100% SURE you clean out the intake manifold, some of those pieces blow back out into intake and waiting to go into other cylinders and a common way to blow up the new motor in minutes. Check it VERY well.

There is also a vacuum hose and a water hose going to intake that if you mix them up (they look the same) will fill the intake with coolant to then trash the new motor in another way.

Both are common rookie mistakes.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Make 100% SURE you clean out the intake manifold, some of those pieces blow back out into intake and waiting to go into other cylinders and a common way to blow up the new motor in minutes. Check it VERY well.

There is also a vacuum hose and a water hose going to intake that if you mix them up (they look the same) will fill the intake with coolant to then trash the new motor in another way.

Both are common rookie mistakes.