Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys Im new here but I see there are alot of people with alot of car smarts on this site. Thanks for having me. I hope I am posting on the right section. Heres my question. I have a 2005 Focus ZX4 that has been having some electrical issues that have been driving me crazy. Im not a Pro when it comes to cars but I would much rather learn to do it myself then take it to a shop. So for the past couple of months when starting my car the clock always resets to 12:00 plus my radio stations reset as well. When I drive the clock light and dash board lights flicker on and off real fast. So my first guess was the battery. I took my battery in and had it tested and my battery was fine. Then I had Autozone do there diagnostic check. They said my alternator and my regulator were fine and they dont see a problem. I replaced my alternator with a brand new one anywayss because of some advise a person gave me. That worked for about 2 weeks. it started happening again. This time I checked my connections. There was no corrosion on the battery but I could seethat there looked to be some corrosion inside the main power wire. So I took that wire off and split it down opening it up and looking at the insides. I could see there was about a foot of corrosion inside the wire where it hooks up to the positive part of the battery. Then I noticed a whole lot more corrosion where my power wire met with my starter. The fuse on that power wire was not blown so at the time I didnt have the money to fix it so I just soaked the wire in a bucket of coca-cola.lol Desperate times call for desperate measures. I taped it back up perfectly and put it back on. It worked Great for about 2 months. Until about 2 days ago. Now when I turn my key it hesitates to come on and when it does my "Bright Light Sign" on my dash board flickers like crazy along with my clock resetting and flickering as well. When I tried to driv