Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Weird. Start up my car to go to work this morning and get no fire. I was at home by myself at the time so I didn't have an extra set of eyes. I opened the hood and I smelled gas so I figured maybe somehow it was flooded. Killed the battery trying to start it after a few more tries. Got my boss to pick me up for another battery and I get it connected. Still no start. At this point, the wife is home and so I have her stand by the car and see if anything looks fishy. I turn the key and gas squirts out the fuel line. Basically, it's just resting on the fuel rail for the injectors. I'm no mechanic by any means, but is it possible just to replace the connector or do I have to install a whole new fuel line? Thanks in advance for the help everybody. uploadfromtaptalk1426362926807.jpg

·
Registered
4,409 Posts
Connector only = nope, sorry.

The good news is... the fuel line is about 2 feet long; it has QD (quick disconnect) fittings, so replacing the whole line is easy. Push the milky tab down with thumb tip and wiggle the fitting off of the rail.

I assume you have disconnected it, and tried to re-seat it right?

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
If I'm seeing right in the center there, it looks like the white plastic clip for the connector is broken.

That looks similar to the fuel filter clips, so you may be able to find a replacement (even if you have to grab a pack of assorted ones).

Search around for fuel filter clip info., sources for replacements are prob. here somewhere. Or search parts store listings for similar.

·
Registered
4,409 Posts
If I'm seeing right in the center there, it looks like the white plastic clip for the connector is broken.

That looks similar to the fuel filter clips,...
Might be broken... but my clips are the same; basically a "U" shape, so those broken-looking ends are actually normal. The Tab to push down is 180 on the other side.