Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
PHP:
I've seen a lot of people wanting to do this, and getting mixed responses and different threads on the topic [idea]

I've been running this for over 2 years without issue. No CELs, no issues whatsoever. I know it's not the prettiest thing, and I don't care, it works and that's all that matters to me. Anyone wanting to do this, all I can say is Take your time. The edges are rough because I didn't have my dremel, but I made do. I think mine's worked so well because I left a small amount of the flange at the end, I did so in hopes the air would hit the MAF with the least amount of turbulence. I left the bottom of the air box installed, and the snorkel, the filter sits quite nicely on it, plus the added air from the snorkel, and the piece of mind that water Will Not hit it. [:)]

The pics aren't the best, my apologies, but they'll make do for now.

I'm sure I'll get flack from some as it's not pretty, but, it works, and has so for a couple years.

·
Registered
130 Posts
When you get a chance, purchase a quality air filter. I know people are divided in which air filter is good... but I have personally seen the dust and particles built up in intakes that had spectre brand filters. The engines built today rely on clean sensors and tight component tolerances. Dirt, road salt, dust... is all a mortal enemy.

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
When you get a chance, purchase a quality air filter. I know people are divided in which air filter is good... but I have personally seen the dust and particles built up in intakes that had spectre brand filters. The engines built today rely on clean sensors and tight component tolerances. Dirt, road salt, dust... is all a mortal enemy.