Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to do a little maintenance on the car. It has around 161,000 miles on it and no service records when I bought it. I changed the fuel filter in June, just changed the oil last week and now I'm getting ready to change the water pump as it's making a horrible noise and when idle'd on a slight up hill incline, it wants to start overheating till the fans kick in. So while I'm at it I figure I better replace some more of the cheap easy fixes. I'm thinking of going with a Wix transmission filter, but I've heard that if the filter has never been changed before 100K then don't change it? I don't know when or if it has ever been changed? But I was thinking of refilling it with maybe some royal purple ATF and maybe some of the Lucas transmission conditioner. I've never done this with a ATX before as I usually drive manuals so input would be appreciated. Also going to swap out the spark plugs and wire. I went to Autozone to get a price and they told me to go with the double platinum plugs, but from the post's I've searched through I've heard of some people having problems with them, Is there a specific plug I should look for? I'm not looking for high performance parts or anything like that, this is just my daily driver and looking to keep it running in the best possible condition to avoid problems later on. Any help with past experience or recommendations would be a big help. Thanks.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #3