Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
If you don't like it...Let me know why and I'll try and make it better...I want to make a useful site that people can refer to.

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
focuzdSVT said:
What exactly is orange peel?
Orange peel is referring to the texture of the paint after the clearcoat. Rather than the paint being nice and smooth, it has a finish that looks exactly the peel of an orange, rough and what not. But after the paint has cured it will buff right out and the paint will look smooth as glass.

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
PpasSFocus said:
Do you have to wait 15-20 min between the paint and clearcoat?
Yeah. Basically you just need to let the paint tack up before you clear over it. Its more of a minimum wait time. If you go longer its no big deal...

·
Registered
8 Posts
A couple questions, I'm a bit of a newbie to painting so don't flame me.....

1. How exactly do you buff it or where can you get it done (I would assume an auto body shop, but I'm trying to do this all myself)

2. Where exactly can I get the paint in my cars color (I found the color code in the faq section, but can I order this from ford?)

3. Would this work for the molding on the bottom of the car as well?

4. Since I don't have access to an autobody shop like you did, would it just be better for me to just stop trying to do everything myself and take it somewhere? I noticed you applied the paint with.... a paint machine thing (my noobness is showing here) and I don't have acccess to one of those either

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Yeah I kind of had an unfair advantage with the shop access. You can get the paint from Ford if you want. Don't know how expensive that will be (I didn't buy any). The shop has every color in the book.