Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
before this starts off wrong i’m a FRUGAL college student with a 2012 ford focus SEL my car has 38,000 miles and is in a (what i like to think) rare color. i plan on keeping this car until it dies but i want to know what we’ll priced options i have to make it a little bit sportier like what air intakes for the best price and things like that and what exhaust that has a grumble but won’t be the worst thing to listen to on long drives. as of right now it’s pretty much stock other than some cosmetic things like led day time running lights a new spoiler on the way things like that. but like i said i need help for peak reliable performance plz help!!! and no i don’t want to sell it and buy an st lol

·
Registered
57 Posts
Without knowing your specific budget it's hard to suggest some things. I mean, ya can't be THAT frugal if you're looking for upgrades. In terms of intake, probably your cheapest option is an OEM Focus RS air box with an aftermarket filter. If you can't afford a green filter or K&N, an AEM filter will get you most of the way there at $20 less than the others.
The RS airbox can be found for approx. $85 right now on ebay. If you take your time shopping though and look around some you may be able to get it for $50-$60ish... I got mine for 60 about a year ago but I had to be patient for a couple weeks before one popped up at that price. So that right there will give you a decent intake in terms of sound and maybe a negligible hp boost and you're not spending much more than $100.