Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I was thinking today at work. I'm a pizza delivery driver and at multiple times of the day, I find myself turning off the car for maybe 1 min and then starting the car back up. If I can still see my car from the front door, I leave it running, but I'm not about to get it stolen. I know that oil pressure on the internals after this 1 min isn't going to be a problem, but there are a bunch of times that it may sit for longer times while waiting for a delivery. I'm concerned that when the winter comes all the cold starts are going to be a problem.
Is there anything I can do?
Any products that will save my engine and possible my starter?
Any other things I should be worried about?
Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

·
Premium Member
3,110 Posts
Use all that tip money and get something to drive for the winter :)... sorry thats all the help i am.

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Maybe after I get caught up financially. It's in my plans to get a strictly work car, so I don't keep putting all the miles on my baby. I'd love to get a 1.6L civic and strip it to like 1600lbs and get 40mpg. I'm sure I'll get shot for saying that here, but, that'd be nice.

·
Premium Member
3,110 Posts
^ that would be pretty nice lots of room to lug stuff around lol

·
Jetsetter
6,657 Posts
just keep up with your oil changes, and make sure your battery is in good health, in the winter that would be something to go first. i wouldnt worry too much about starting it up all the time, the times when its a "cold" start is when it hasnt run in a few hours, but once its warm and running up to temp, shutting the engine off for a few min to deliver goodness in a box, the engine will still be nice and warm.

on your next oil change i would get some lucas oil stabilzer and put that in, it will offer a little more protection for ya.