Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello forum users, I am in need of your assistance with my girlfriends focus that is having some problems. I drive a VW, so this car is not that easy to troubleshoot..plus this seems like an electrical problem which i am not very good at.

Car: 2002 Focus ZX3 Zetec 2.0L DOHC MFI Automatic
Mileage: 188k+
Modifications: none, car is completely stock

The car makes alot of noise, drive like poo pretty much. I believe the passenger fan that turns on when coolant temp is high is shot..when we sit in traffic or drive that fan turns on and it sounds like the bearing is either gone completely inside or the fan is way out of balance...the car does overheat when standing too long. Coolant level is good.

Today we were driving to see a movie and at a red light while it was idling the car decided to turn off completely. It just dropped off like we turned the key to off position. There was no struggle to stay alive. I put it in park, turned key and it luckily started back up. Me and my girlfriend were a bit stunned but continued on our way. After the movie we realized that we may have left the inner dome light on. Later that night we stopped by advanced auto parts to pick up some Castrol oil and a Purolator filter so we can change the oil. Got to the driveway, put the car up on jackstands. Dropped the oil and oil filter, refilled the thing with 4.5 Quarts of oil (soaked filter with oil). I asked her to start the car so some oil can reciruclate and i can check the level...she started the car and about 15 seconds later the car did the same thing..it just died.

This time when you turned the key the dash lights were barely on. The only real visible light was the red oil light on the right side. The airbag light would come on for a second and then go away. Security light is flashing.

Observations: