Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We recently purchased a 2012 Ford Focus (about a month ago). We received a call from the Ford dealer today saying that they made an error with the paperwork and set us up with the wrong interest rate with Ford Credit Canada, and Ford Credit will not accept the paperwork as is.

Given that we have already purchased this car (a month ago), signed all of the paperwork prepared by the dealership (who assumably is some kind of authorized agent of Ford Credit), is it really our problem if they made a mistake? Will we be forced to accept a higher interest rate?

To me this seems like it is an issue between Ford Credit and our dealership, rather than an issue between us and the dealer or Ford Credit. Though I am not an expert.

Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
967 Posts
I'd call a commerce lawyer and get a consultation ^^^

·
Registered
18 Posts
i always heard once its signed, its final. there was a guy on the mustang forum that traded for a 2011 mustang gt and the paperwork was screwed up and had the price for a base model ranger or something like that. Instead of 31k he was charged like 21k and after the trade he only owed like 6k or something.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i always heard once its signed, its final.
That's what I'm thinking. Otherwise, what's the point of having a contract in place if one party can just back out of it after the fact?

My only concern is what the consequences are if Ford Credit "will not accept the paperwork as is", as the dealer says. I believe them when they say this, as Ford Credit has indicated that they do not yet not have an account set up for us or for our vehicle. And if they don't have an account, I assume there is no way for us to make our monthly payment.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I would say if they try to raise your interest rate, try to give them the car back. They won't like that very much ;)

·