Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at working on these electronic controlled engines, so I'm hoping for some help.

A couple of days ago, I changed the alternator on my 2005 ZX5. 172,000 miles. That's the only thing I've had to "repair" on the car. After the change, the car ran fine. We are the original owners. Anyway, my son was driving the car a couple days later. He said the car was running fine, someone hit the brakes in front of him, and he slammed on the brakes pretty hard. When he hit the gas to go again, the engine started stumbling on him.

He brought the car to me, and told me about it. I started the car (which was difficult). The engine itself isn't making any noise like something is wrong (rod knocking, etc.) but it definitely has a miss. So I just stared at it a minute, then decided to check something out.

With the motor running, I pulled the electrical connector from the #1 injector. The motor just about died, then I put the connector back on. The motor smoothed out, but with the same miss. I then did the same thing with the #1 coil pack. Same results. I did the same thing with the #2 cylinder, and got the same results.

When I disconnected the #3 injector, there was no change in the way the motor was running. When I disconnected the #3 coil pack, there was no change as well. I then disconnected both the coil pack and injector from the #4 cylinder, and still there was no change in the way the engine is running.

To me, this is telling me there is something wrong with the fuel/spark on the #3 and #4 cylinders. I thought maybe something stupid happened with the electronics, so I disconnected the battery for a 1/2 hour, reconnected it, and started the car with the same resulting miss.