Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to forced induction but I have learned a lot surfing around FF. I was wondering would it be possible to make my own set up of a procharger or supercharger that sucked in the air from my CAI? If so i was thinking of just buying a pro/supercharger and intake manifold, fabricating some pipe to my throttle body and CAI and getting a new serpentine. This would mean no innercooler. any thoughts?

·
Deaf Focus Fanatic
2,026 Posts
In my opinion, I think you'd better go off with a turbo. if you want a supercharger, ProCharger :) But I would bet others would tell you to go Turbo.

·
coooookie monster
7,570 Posts
Every bodu is goin to say go turbo. And what do you mean custom procharger

·
Registered
9,084 Posts
You're CAI is going to need replaced reguardless if you go F/I. The procharger can use the stock intake manifold so you won't need to replace that. And why do a custom kit when you can buy them readily available for probably much cheaper than it would cost to make a custom one.

Depends on your power goals and budget and preference really between superchargers and turbos. The Procharger is the way to go as far as S/C's go, it's easily upgradeable and can show some rather impressive numbers and also doesn't cost to much. A good turbo kit may cost alittle more but is going to give you better gains. If you search there are countless threads on the subject but you're going to find most people will say turbo.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The reason i dont go turbo is the install, they seem the hardest to put in your self. Im pretty good with tools, how difficult would it be? Well i was leaning toward the procharger.

·
Registered
88 Posts