Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help. My passenger side floor is wet. Does anyone know how to permanantly fix this? I beleive the water is coming down into the heater intake. Does anyone know if there is an updated cowl design or what?

·
Registered
407 Posts
there is a chemical or something that you can add into there and it will stop the leak, im sure its called "stop leak" and you can get it from any automotive store

·
Registered
78 Posts
mtfocus said:
Help. My passenger side floor is wet. Does anyone know how to permanantly fix this? I beleive the water is coming down into the heater intake. Does anyone know if there is an updated cowl design or what?
I'm an expert when it comes to this problem. Did you get everything figured out?

BTW I would NOT recommend using any of the sealants listed above...I will get u a pic of what you need if you haven't figured it out yet.

·
Registered
78 Posts
OK here is a general how-to for fixing a cowl leak:

1) Go to a NAPA store and get stuff called "glass setting butyl tape". It is in a blue box - part number 4195. Get the 5/16" wide roll. Don't waste your time buying anything else. Trust me, I tried a few things before hand. It's fairly expensive stuff ($15 I think), but there is 15 feet and it is fantastic stuff for lots of applications.

2) Remove the passenger side windshield cowl. Don't forget the screw that is under the little black tab in the middle of the cowl. No need to remove the drivers side cowl. See my mouse thread for some good pictures and info: Link

3) The water is getting in through your "cabin air filter" on the passenger side of the car. The actual paper filter may or may not be there. You can clearly see how water rolling down the windshield will get into the filter. This is why it has to be sealed. The drivers side cowl is actually not sealed at all.

4) Clean the cowl where the previous sealant was. Also clean the windshield.