Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just want to make sure I do everything right as I've never done it before and dont' want to mess anything up..

Below is my engine... now the hose I would use to suck up the seafoam would be the one coming out of the back of the valve cover right? Just trying to be sure because I have ran seafoam in the crankcase before as well as the gas tank but never thru the line going to the engine...

And one other question....

I need to replace the PCV hose on my engine as well... could seafoaming my car before replacing that hose potentially damage anything?

AND...

Is that something I could replace myself without any other tools other than your basic hand tools?

Thanks in advance for any info/advice/responses!

·
C2H5OH
11,867 Posts
Replace the PCV hose first. Odds are you are running somewhat lean to begin with.

And no that is not the hose I would recommend using to suck up Seafoam. Use the little one just above the light green cap on the passenger side. I feel that a large hose delivers too much too fast and can cause harm. A little at a time is just safer IMO.

BTW, nice job in keeping the engine clean. I can't stand some of the corroded ugly dirty engine bays on here. Noting worse than having to clean grease/mud off an engine before you work on it.

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Replace the PCV hose first. Odds are you are running somewhat lean to begin with.

And no that is not the hose I would recommend using to suck up Seafoam. Use the little one just above the light green cap on the passenger side. I feel that a large hose delivers too much too fast and can cause harm. A little at a time is just safer IMO.

BTW, nice job in keeping the engine clean. I can't stand some of the corroded ugly dirty engine bays on here. Noting worse than having to clean grease/mud off an engine before you work on it.