Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know where the drain plug is for the engine block? I usually hook up my water temp gauge to these and I don't want to spend all day looking for it if there is one and where it might be. Thanks!!!

·
Registered
3,174 Posts
If you're going to hook up a gauge, you have to cut the upper radiator hose and put in the fitting for the temp gauge. Off the top of my head, I can't think of a plug in the head for the coolant. You can private message HONHON...he has the part number you need.

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cut the radiator hose? I have never done anything like that before. I have installed this same type gauge before and I usually go off the engine blocks drain plug for the coolant. I am definitaly not cutting any hoses. Plus the fitting is a threaded brass piece.

·
Registered
8,506 Posts
what you need is this:

autometer # 2282, its a radiator hose adapter... the drain plug for the coolant on the duratec is plastic and built into the radiator..

all of the big names use this type of adapter for their senders... its the easiest and quickest way to do it.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
Can't u just replace the existing CTS??

·
Registered
8,506 Posts
then the PCM will freak out and throw a CEL.

and on the duratec motor... the temp sender is actually the cylinder head temp sensor, that extends down into the block area.

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
On my 1999 Mustang GT and 2005 Mustang GT they both have a plug that is a coolant drain on the drivers side of the block. They also had drains on the radiator too. The Duratec's don't have a block drain? I will be searching high and low tomorrow for it.

·
Registered
403 Posts
i had taken honhons advice and got the autometer adapter and it works great. Cuting the hose was pretty simple, its right there at the block, so its pretty accurate.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts