Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2002 ZTS Zetec Engine

I was about 1 min away from my home at a stoplight when steam started to pour from under my hood. I was right at a gas/service station so I pulled over . My coolant level in the reservoir was very low. Initially, I figured it was a hose. The hoses from the reservoir all seem fine.

I put some coolant in and drove it home. I left it running while opening the hood. I could see a puddle accumulating and a very faint amount of steam. The puddle seemed to be directly in the middle of the car though the trail behind from when I was driving looked to be on tha passenger side. Looking under the car it seemed that the coolant was on the bottom side of the fans. It was hard to see much without lifting up the car.

Anyway, I probably end up taking it to a mechanic. I thought if it was just a hose or pressure cap I would just replace it myself to learn. I'm a newbie.

If anybody has any clues to what might be leaking from what I have said, I'm all ears.

Also, I have some questions since nothing in this car looks anything like the generic car diagrams I have looked at. Is the clear plastic reservoir the same as "coolant recovery system"? If so then where is the pressure cap on the radiator?

I'd very much like to learn this stuff, but there's no diagram I've found specific to the focus that says what is what. Thanks.

-Stu

·
Registered
1,247 Posts
look on the drvers side of the engine, there should be a black box with a couple coolant lines running off of it, and below it you should see the tranny, if there is coolant on the tranny its coming from that black box. Inside is where the thermostat is, these things are what typically cause the coolant leaks. Mine went on my ZTS around 70K miles. It should be right below the valve cover(thing with zetec printed on it). It is a easy fix, I would suggest doing it yourself to save some money.

·
Registered
9 Posts