Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this I dont understand. First of all this is my girlfriends car and ive worked on it a little but not much so im new to focus but not to a wrench. Her ac started acting up and not cooling great so first thing I did was check the charge and it was a little low so i topped it off, now its blowing 34 degrees on the highway. The problem is sitting at idle the temp goes up slowly to about 70. I did some more checking and found that the condenser fan is never coming on. The right side radiator fan comes on when you start the car but no matter how hot ,and ac on or off, the left side condenser fan never comes on. I tested the motor directly and it runs no problem so not the motor. the harness is putting out over 13v and about 6 amps which is the same as the rad motor is receiving and it runs fine. My question is how can the fan run when jumped directly to the battery but not from the harness when its putting out the same voltage and amps hooked up either way? Any ideas?? Thanx in advance.

·
Premium Member
21,256 Posts
My question is how can the fan run when jumped directly to the battery but not from the harness when its putting out the same voltage and amps hooked up either way? Any ideas?? Thanx in advance.
Do you know how many rigged up fans I've found in KOed cars in junkyards? Do you know that every single one of them worked when I repaired the factory wiring- which on the old OBD1 cars was typically a temp sensor used by the ECU?

Now of course, that's probably not the problem in your car. The most likely problem is the resistor or the fan plug itself, but I'd be surprised that you didn't notice that the plastic on the plug was melted when you tested the fan.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·