Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So yeah, i'm wanting to put some money under the hood of my car, and i want to make sure to get the best bang for the buck... I was wondering, whats better for the SVTF, A short ram intake or cold air?

Yeah, i know, i'm a stupid rookie. but thanks for the help!

·
Registered
814 Posts
Depending on how much it rains n what not out where you live. I would suggest the Short ram. If you area is dry and nice you could easily get the CAI, i think over at www.myfordfocus.com they have the guard to prevent any water from coming in. I hear the CAI is much a better way to go for cool air which usually= better performance. With the CAI i would get a TB as well.

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
I had an AEM CAI, and it was great. SOunded awesome, but the filter placement just scared the shit outta me. I had a water shield and everything. I ended up having Wayne send me one of his HIA SRI intakes, and i love it. I like it. Only drawback , is my header heatshield is off, and IM going to have to wrap it to keep underhood temps down. I just couldnt stand hitting water with my AEM, and having my MAF or TPS freak out on me cuz it had moisture in it. Just a lil nerve wracking if it rains.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
See i read a review on some web site... i wish i rememered what... but It said the AEM Cold Air was amazing and sounded beautiful... but when they showed the picture of where the intake was... that made me really wonder... Thats the main reason i was wondering if i should get a short ram intake instead...

So can you tell any sort of a difference having a cold air intake, and also a short ram intake? and also wondering, what did you do with that cold air intake, you still have it and want it to be taken off your hands? :eek:)

·
Registered
621 Posts