Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

I have a 1999 Focus, 1.8 zetec engine. I have a problem with my engine, it feels very sluggish, especially driving up hill, and it jerks a lot, similar to the feeling just before a stall. When I leave the engine running and look under the bonnet the engine sounds like it keeps dropping off, I mean it makes its usual sound, but every 1-5 seconds the sound will deepen in pitch for a second or so, as if it is going to stall. It is idling at about 750 RPM.

I have replaced the air filter, oil filter, fuel filter, spark plugs and renewed the engine oil. Although the engine feels smoother, I am still getting the same effects.

I am only a novice at all of this, so if you have any advice or ideas that would be great.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No, when idling and when the engine is under strain I would say, for example going up hills, or changing up a gear too early. I've been reading around, and it seems I need to change my HT leads and then maybe the coil pack. Do you agree?

·
Registered
2,211 Posts
Tune your AM radio to a WEAK station around 770 or so and drive the car. If you hear a crackle in the radio that corresponds to the miss, there's an HT leak. Try the wires, then the coil pack.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
OK, the plot thickens... I did the radio thing, and it sounded to me like it was following the engine, so I replaced the HT leads... no difference, BUT one lead, the one furthest from the coil pack was covered in brown deposit on the head that covers the spark plug (powdery looking). I drove home from Ford, when I got home I looked at the brand new lead and it was already covered in brown deposit.