Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went to the salvage yard to get some spare for my daughter's car for her snow tires.

So I'm tramping around the Focus section on the yard with my battery powered impact gun looking for decent wheels.

What surprised me is that my 19mm socket didn't fit over the sockets fully. Neither did the 3/4" socket. I got it to work but something surprised me.

All the lug nuts that I saw on Foci were of the closed variety (acorns? caps?). Then came the surprise with one of the them, the chrome cap pulled off.

Her car has normal, old style open lug nuts so I have no experience with these fancy ones.

Is the cap supposed to come off before you start wrenching?

·
Ford Fiend
2,976 Posts
Reactions: Paul1958

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Maybe they were rusty which expanded the chrome cap. I had to hammer the socket onto a few of the nuts to get it to work. Of course that made it fun to get the socket off the nut.

I'll give those lug nuts some consideration. They look nicer than what's on there now but it's my daughter's car and she doesn't car much about looks when it comes to things automotive.

·
Registered
412 Posts
My last focus and current focus both had “swollen” lug nuts (found the ford receipt in the first one). Not sure if they don’t hold up or it’s a problem from over torquing but seems to me that if I buy another, I’ll throw all the nuts in the trash like I did the past 2 times. Go to your local auto parts store and get open lugs of the proper thread. The chrome ones will rust and flake anyway. Pepboys near me keeps them in the hardware drawers.

·
Ford Fiend
2,976 Posts
Thanks. Maybe they were rusty which expanded the chrome cap. I had to hammer the socket onto a few of the nuts to get it to work. Of course that made it fun to get the socket off the nut.