Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no car expert (only 17) but I need suggestions on what tires to get since one just went flat and 2 others need to be replaced anyways. So I got a quote and i'm between two brands (the pricing is actually 3 cents off so money is not a factor here). One of my choices is Kumho solus KR while the other is cooper GLS 88. I'm leaning towards the latter but i'm open for suggestions.

·
Meh.
10,609 Posts
Get whatever one has the coolest tread pattern. lol

Really that is probably the only major thing that I can tell you to go by. I don't know much about either type of tire. I can tell you that my parents car came with some type of Kumho tire when it was new and they whore out pretty quickly so maybe the coopers are a better choice.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
First, I Like Coopers 'cause they are a U.S. company, have had good experience with them in the past, and I can remember when they supported rally racing when no-one else had an interest (MANY years ago).

Secondly, the best advice I can give is to check out the options on the Tire Rack site, since they have test results & buyer feedback you can look up easily - quite informative if you remember to take the customer comments in context of what car the person drives, and what THEIR objectives were. Someone with a similar car, looking for the same type of performance you are interested in, will be the best feedback as to actual real world experience....

I used the site a LOT B4 my last purchase, and am VERY happy with what I bought.

Remember, there is NO "best" tire, just the one that fits YOUR needs best....

·
Registered
153 Posts
I've had good luck with the General Atimax series. I like how they handle in the wet and I seem to get good mileage.

P.

·
Premium Member
21,256 Posts