Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys

Really need your help with this one. I have a focus with a 2.3l and I live up in good ol snowy Canada. My check engine light has been coming on and off as of late. Just wondering if it may just be that fact that I may have a bad connection somwhere, or maybe it's just a sensor. Regardless it makes me wonder if something is really wrong here. I tried having a look at the codes that you can get off the dash board, but I am not a pro at reading the codes. Can anyone help?[?]

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
hmm...if it's turning on a off, it sounds like it could just be a loose or bad connection.

Have you done any mods to your focus or is it completely stock?

Have you tried restarting the computer in your car? That might help...

·
FoFo Lover.
2,884 Posts
Mine comes on and off. But it's because I have a bad O2 sensor.

It's probably something as simple as that.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey Matt

No the car is completely stock. You may be right by saying it's a loose connection. Not too sure on what or how to restart the computer from the inside. Can you please explain

thanks

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
unplug the battery completely and leave it unplugged for about 20mins. this will reset the computer on your car. this might help.

by chance, do you have a CAI or RAI on your car?

·
Registered
3,487 Posts
Simply buy a code reader, or go to a parts store that reads codes for free. The code that's flashing on/off should be stored in the memory, even if it's off when it's read. It's completely stupid to guess about such things. You can spend a bunch of money throwing parts at a problem....

·
Focus Hoarder
3,633 Posts
CAI = Cold Air Intake
RAI = Ram Air Intake