Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newb.

I have done a search and have search some more. I don't have the money for a steeda just yet, but that will change in the next 2-3 weeks.

Anywho, I brought a brand new 06 ST Ford Focus and decided to make this my daily runner. I have already put 2000 miles on her and I've only had her for about 2 weeks. If you haven't guessed it, I'm traveling girl. I'm a retail sales merchandiser and I service BJ's, PathMark's (supermarkets), Wal-Mart's and many other super stores. My job is 100% traveling.

Anyway, I brought a cheap intake from PepBoys and decided to create my own little intake until I can get the money for a cat-back and steeda. I installed the intake and everything went well. But now the CEL comes on.

Does this happen with every intake? Is it O.K. to to leave it the way it is until I get the Steeda? I'm taking that the problem is the MAF because I plugged the MAF up disconnected the negative battery cable for 20 min and started the car. It ran rough and cut off on me. I had to keep starting the car 5 times before it would not cut off. But, once I took it for a test drive, the kick and bucked like a bull. I drove the car for 5 miles like that. Finally I pull over to the side of the road, and unplugged the MAF. Wow, did she scream then. No more kicking and bucking. Now the CEL is back on and I'm worried that this will damage my car.

Please help ASAP; I have to go to work on Monday and I don't wont to continue to drive around if I'm causing damage.

STFocigirl

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Please, do you your car a favor and remove the pep boys intake as it will make your car run like crap no matter what.

The MAF is incredibly important in making sure the car runs right, without it plugged in the car will run in sort of limp mode. This will result in an incorrect air to fuel ratio and will harm the car eventually.