Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
512 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I was thinking about this for a while. But now Im going through with it. I am designing an intake and it will be fully carbon fiber. I just want to build some intrest so I know the money I spend in developement will be worth it. It will be for the duratec 2.0/2.3 cars.

Give me some input, but by tuesday I will have my measurments and be pricing out the mold and things with a company.

Lets build some intrest and see who wants this.

as for credibility. I am a full time mechanical engineer, I was part owner of a Subaru performance shop for almost 3 years. I have been building FSAE cars for 5 years at the University of PIttsburgh where I got my education. I have done flow testing and all that good and fun stuff. Just so you guys dont think I am some off the street joe.

·
Registered
512 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
it will be a little pricey, but again the more ordered at a time the cheaper things get. I will eventually do the zetec, I had one designed for my zx2, so I only have to change a few things to have it fit the focus, mounting points and things. But since I have the duratec Im going to hit that first but like I said, next week some time my design will be done.

i just want to know that people are interested

·
Registered
512 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
also i know the zx2 zetec and focus zetec are different, but the placement of the throtle bodies is the same and since i have the general design i just need a few mesaurments so i can match it up perfect

·
Registered
512 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah, Im also going to eventually do more carbon under the hood as well. It will jack the price, overall its also a strong and light material.

I mean either way Im doing one for myself, the question is if anyone else is going to want them.

strength to weight on carbon is incredible

·
Banned
4,483 Posts