Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All right, today I went buy the local audio shop and got a quote on a sound system. Keep in mind i'm a newb. For 4 Infinity 6x8's ($190), 1 crossfire ur142 amp ($139), 1 Crossfire CF 12" ($85) a 12" box ($65), a new head unit ($200) and labor it would run about $800-$900. I'm asking for Christmas and can't get it all. Now, I know at least the front speakers are a must. But my parents wont spend $900 on a system for me (which is reasonable). WHICH ITEMS ARE MOST CRITICAL????

·
Registered
951 Posts
I'd go with the deck and speakers. You can't run the sub and amp since theres nowhere in the stock unit to plug the amp into. I have an Alpine deck CDA-9807 from Ebay for just a lil over 2 bills.......check it out. I also installed Infinity's, great sound even w/out an amp. The deck and speakers you can install yourself.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
any other good head units? I dont want to sound cheesy, but i'd like something with red lights and a black/gunmetal background. sound is #1 of course though.

·
It's been fun.......
3,042 Posts
I realize that sound and options are the primary items but Eclipse has a better theft deterrent system than most, if that is important to you. I think it's something like if it's removed from the dash before it can be used again you have to call Eclipse. I read an article on it a while back and it was saying that because of that it was the least stolen system out there, less than 1%.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanx guys i'll check it out. some of the sony's seem pretty cool too but i kind of worry about the reliability. I know sony used to be THE brand to have but personally i havent had great luck with them

·
Focus Enthusiast
2,208 Posts