Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
im a total newbie to tuning cars[scratch] that have to be smogged especialy in cali[read][rant] so i have no idea what to do.
i want to build a engine like i was able before in my old cars but i want to pass smog what can i do?[pray]

can i put a cam in it what are smog legal cams?
bigger injectors how big can i go?
upgrade internals? (pistons ,rods, crank, block. balancing?)
hi flow cats are they legal where can i get a cali legal one?
port and polish head and intake?
higher compression how high before its not legal or removes too much reliabilty?
headers which are smog legal?
high rev valve springs?
stroking or over boring the engine is it legal and where would i get over sized pistons or longer rods?
turbo or supercharge?
ecu tuning who can get max performance while keeping it legal and where do i get the tuner?
ive read about tom and randy i think i like tom better for the free updates

what are some other mods i can make that i dot no of[idea]

·
Wheel King, Bow Down
1,918 Posts
You have to pass a visual inspection at the SMOG station, as well as a sniffer test, so it not only has to preform up to standards but also has to look the part.

can i put a cam in it what are smog legal cams?
bigger injectors how big can i go?
upgrade internals?

You can do these as long as it passes the exhaust sample test.

There is no such thing as a CA legal HFC, if you touch the cat you're setting yourself up for biiiiiiiiiiig problems.

port and polish head and intake?

P&P is fine, intake isn't... unless it's CARB rated.

higher compression how high before its not legal or removes too much reliabilty?

Again, as long as it passes the exhaust test, you're fine. Run it too rich and it won't pass.

headers which are smog legal?

Technically there is no such thing, only header that you can pass as legal is the SVT header and even that has to be hidden by heat shields and whatnot.