Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay...apologize to all you seasoned vets to the site/car modification scene...however...I am totally new to the car modification scene. I have searched this forum to try to find reasonable answers to my curiosity. Enough of my "screw you newbie" disclaimer...
What I really want to know is, with my recent aquistion of a 2001 4 Door SE Focus, I am looking to maybe swap an SVT motor/trans (by the way, my car is an automatic currently....) into my car. What is it exactly that I will have to do to prep for to get this done? I have several thousand ready to drop into this car, that is having transmission and severe suspension issues. What should be my first move? Do I repair/upgrade the suspension first to get the car ready to handle approximately 40 more horsepower? What is it going to be like for me to get a six speed manual into my car that is an automatic? I have checked out focus-power.com, and they seem to have the hardware that I need, but I am just lost in this whirlwind of making sure that my seven-year-old car is going to accept its' new "heart transplant" and run efficiently.

Please, somebody point a noob (and recent Focus-lover) in the right direction!!!

·
Registered
8,506 Posts
there is actually a thread created for someone that did this exact thing, went from an auto zetec motor and put in a getrag and sct motor...

i cant remember the thread right now, but i know its in this section.

·
Registered
7,530 Posts
Isn't that what besthaticouldo did? A total SVT transplant? I don't know if he had an auto before though but its basically the same thing. Just a little more work involved.

·
Token Engin-nerd
3,414 Posts
I dont say this often, being a huge modder and mtx swapper myself, but im going to recommend you take that money and throw it at a real SVT.