Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, i heard through the grapevine that modding a focus isnt all that expensive. I looked on ebay for ideas on exhaust, intake, springs, etc. and there are so many! Name off some nice intakes, exhaust (do NOT want the type of exhaust that you hear every Fast and the Furious wannabe slap on there civics), springs, header, etc. Im new to a Focus so any advice as is greatly appriciated. Ahem, cheaper the better. Looking to make some more HP out of it but keep the price tag of it all to a low. If i am just blowing smoke up my own arse, let me know :D you guys have been a great help so far. I look forward to your replies.
Looking to snag a 2000-04 zx3 manual 2.0L. Live in DFW texas area.
Tanner Mahan

·
Registered
154 Posts
Hey i live in DFW Texas to I just got my 03 ZX3 on Saturday we should get togetther and talk about what to do..... and join the zetec crew

·
Registered
1,471 Posts
Chances are what you saw on eBay, while cheap, won't be the best parts you can get. Intakes are hit or miss with fitment, I wouldn't trust any eBay name exhaust or suspension part, but if you can find a name brand part on eBay for a good deal, then that's cool. If you do decide to do springs, look into dampers as well since the stock ones aren't valved for lower or stiffer springs. They will blow and with any kind of race spring, you will bounce.

·
Registered
1,366 Posts
take this advice...you get what you pay for. better quality parts are going to be more expensive. but before you ask what's the best of the best, you should really figure out where you wanna go with your car and how seriously you wanna mod it. i would try to stay away from ebay, but shop around on some of the vendors around here and check out the marketplace for used parts.

·
Registered
1,258 Posts