Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm researching the idea of boosting the 2012+ Duratec engines and need more data. I know, I know, get an ST. I'm not. I want to boost mine.
For background, I'm a mechanic and an engineering student. I can plan it and build it, I just don't have the experience that this community does.

First, how much power have you all put through "stock" D20, D23, Zetec engines?
To be clear, by stock I mostly refer to the head and block. I would hope you replaced the intake and exhaust when boosting a naturally aspirated car...
How much horsepower and torque have been made without moving to forged internals? I need to know what exactly the breaking points are in the D20 specifically.

While I'm talking to the people who know this stuff, I want to address the compression ratio and my thoughts on it.
From 2011 to 2012 there were several changes, but here's why that's not an issue.
10.8:1 compression ratio in 2011
12:1 compression in 2012
Mathematically, 2012 had 11% more cylinder pressure at compression than 2011. 2011 had 90% the cylinder pressure of 2012. So whatever boost figure is safe for 2011, 90% of that would make nearly the same internal cylinder pressure inside the 2012. This means a 2011 engine running 10lbs with the FSWerks turbo kit, the 2012 would be running nearly the same internal cylinder pressure with 9lbs. Clearly compression won't be an issue there.
Now for pre-detonation, the other reason people don't put boost on high compression engines. The 2012 introduced direct injection, in which the gas is injected near the peak of the compression stroke, essentially eliminating the possibility of pre-det entirely. Not to mention the 2012 has oil squirters to keep the pistons cool, further reducing the already low pre-det chances. Also, it should be a given, but 93oct is all I have and will ever run in this car, so I'm sure that will help.