Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What would be the best way to increase low RPM torque on a 2.0 liter Duratec/Mazda 2005 Focus? I figure it is likely a cool/cold air intake(such as MM). This would make a significant increase of horsepower at all RPM's, thus increasing torque at the low end.

When I have a hitch installed on my Focus I would like to keep the RPMs down while towing to reduce the wear and tear on the engine and powertrain. I plan on doing this by increasing torque, rather than running higher rpms at stock HP to make up for hauling the extra load. (don't worry, it would only be a Uhaul 4x8 or 5x8 van trailer. I'm NOT hauling a boat or heavy camper trailer.)

I know where my research resources are(mostly Google), but I'm no expert on this subject. Advice would be greatly appreciated. If my pretense is wrong and something else is more pertinent, let me know.

·
Registered
90 Posts
add a Supercharger? I mean common a Cold Air Intake my add a few HP up top but I don't think its going to do anything for low end. mebbe a few and I mean a few foot pounds but whats that going to get you? I doubt you should be towing with your engine period but if you must your gonna have to keep it the RPMs up.

Jake

·
FoFo Quebec!
1,486 Posts
A Focus is not really meant to tow anything. Just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Hey focuses are good at towing other cars. Ive done this on many occasions when my other friends cars break down.

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
http://www.marcymotorsport.com/

There is a nice bump in torque across the whole rpm band.

There are NO superchargers in development for the duratec right now by anyone.

·
Registered
440 Posts