Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 2000 stock ZX3 manual trans and am looking to do a little modding just to give my care a little more pep. Nothing too extreme. I don't want to make any driveability compromises and I would like to maintain/improve current fuel economy.

I have been thinking about a volant or some other CAI and a focussport exhaust (don't want it to be loud, just a little better tone)

A few questions:

1- What (if any) difference will I be able to notice in acceleration?
2- What is the installation of these parts like? (I have little experience, but I am good at following directions)
3- Would this setup seem considerably louder than the stock one?

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
9,084 Posts
A cold air intake, exhaust, ECU reflash, short shifter and 65mm throttle body.

·
Retired Fanatic
20,000 Posts
An intake will definitely get you a bit of performance for the mod, it's an easy installation. Anyone can do it, really simple. Just make sure you get a good intake, not some ebay cheap crap as there's more harm then good in those. The VOLANT is the best for the Zetec IMO, I've had 6 intakes on my car in the past, that one was the best for sure. You'll notice an increase in acceleration with an intake. Aftermarket intakes are much louder then the stock one for example but nothing bad, the VOLANT is actually quite quiet compared to a typical short ram intake.