Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was wondering, what would be a better investment of money for my atx. chip or valve body? also, would this be up for the abuse of maybe a 50 shot of nos?

·
Registered
921 Posts
If the torque convertor remains stock, then a 50 shot will kill the tranny. The valve body/chip will only help out the clutch packs.

·
Registered
7,414 Posts
OandAWOW said:
If the torque convertor remains stock, then a 50 shot will kill the tranny. The valve body/chip will only help out the clutch packs.
depends on how much you use it, i had no2 on my at car and my tranny is working fine. i didn't use mine much, less than a bottle a month

·
Registered
479 Posts
ATX perf.

Here’s an old post that might be of interest:
Ok, I'm gonna hang this one out here once and for all, since we have this cool new forum. I'll only say this once:

I used to be an engineer at Ford Automatic Transimission Operations.

As has been mentioned, the 4F27E was designed for 270 ft-lbs AFTER torque converter multiplication. The torque converter multiplies the torque by almost 2, so the transmission is at it's design limit with a Zetec.

The issue is the durability of the 3/4 clutches (not the TQ). They just can't take the energy dumped in by a higher torque motor. It's the actual energy they have to absorb on a shift, not the actual torque while in gear, that is a problem.

As has been mentioned, tightening up your shifts will help, because the shift is faster, and thus you dump in less energy on a shift.

Ford was fully aware of the potential problem with the clutches and the PZEV. So, in mid-2004 model year, they upgraded the clutches to go with the introduction of the PZEV. Internally, they referred to them as "high energy" clutches. In fact, ALL Foci got the stronger clutches in mid-2003 MY, I believe the build date switchover was December, or somewhere thereabouts.